Indiana State Eliminates Women’s Soccer From MVC Tournament On Penalty Kicks

first_imgStory Links HTML Box Score Full Schedule Roster “I am proud of our team and the season we had,” Horner said. “Our seniors have truly left their mark on this program and I’m grateful for their contributions. They demonstrated that hard work, servant leadership, and the desire to improve individually and compete for the team earns results. Kayla, Sarah Grace, Gabby, Brooke, and Alex will be hard to replace, but at the same time they have been a part of developing our returners to fill the holes they leave. We were good today in many areas, had more possession, and more quality chances, but just couldn’t find the back of the net. However, frustratingly when a game is decided by penalty kicks the best team doesn’t always win. I believe that these seniors are leaving the program in a great position to build for next year and achieve even more success.” TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – The Drake University women’s soccer team and the Indiana State Sycamores played 110 minutes of scoreless Missouri Valley Conference Tournament action Sunday afternoon in Terre Haute, Ind. Ultimately, the Sycamores edged the Bulldogs, 3-2, in penalty kicks to advance to face top-seeded Illinoi State in the MVC Tournament on Nov. 4. Needing to convert her attempt to even the score at 3-3, senior Kayla Armstrong’s (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) shot just missed the top right corner of the goal as Indiana State advanced in the MVC tournament. The contest is officially scored in the record books as a scoreless draw as Drake finished 2016 with a 12-4-3 overall record. The 12 wins are the most for the program since the 2012 season. Drake finished with a program-record 12 shutouts in 2016. PDF Box Score center_img Kasey Wallace made the next attempt for Indiana State and junior Hannah Wilder (Wheatfield, Ind.) converted the second-straight for the Bulldogs. Dennis saved the next attempt by Gaelen Stejbach, but senior Sarah Grace Nicholson (Overland Park, Kan.) had her attempt stopped as the Bulldogs trailed 3-2 after the first three attempt. However, Dennis came through again with a huge stop as she saved the next attempt by Katie Wells. Drake dominated shots in the contest at 19-5, including 10-5 on shots on goal. In the best-of-five penalty kicks shootout, the second-ever in Drake’s program history, Indiana State’s Maddie Orf converted the first shootout attempt past Bulldog senior goalkeeper Brooke Dennis (Wauconda, Ill.). Sophomore Alyssa Brand (Skokie, Ill.) had the first attempt for the Bulldogs, but her attempt was saved by Indiana State goalkeeper Brittany San Roman. Sydney Hamker made the third attempt for the Sycamores and junior Kasey Hurt (Ankeny, Iowa) followed with a successful attempt for Drake. Individually, Armstrong ends her career as seventh all-time in career goals with 18 and is a near-lock to be named to the 2016 All-MVC First Team after finishing with a team-best 10 goals, including seven in the team’s final five games. Charles played in 13 matches over two seasons after transferring prior to 2015 and finished with two career goals. Dennis was the 2015 MVC Goalkeeper of the Year, the first-ever top goalkeeper award in program history. Freeman suffered season-ending knee injuries in each of the past two seasons, but played in 44 career games and scored four career goals, including the game-winner to beat North Dakota State in this season’s opener. Nicholson was the 2015 MVC Defender of the Year, a member of the All-MVC First Team and the MVC Scholar-Athlete first team. Print Friendly Version “This is a heartbreaking way to end what has been an exciting season,” said Drake head coach Lindsey Horner. “This isn’t how we envisioned today ending, but this is the nature of our sport at times. To go 12-4-3 is impressive, but to do so without two impactful seniors that had season ending injuries is an accomplishment not many would have thought possible.” Sunday was the final game in the blue and the white for five outstanding Drake seniors. The group included Armstrong, Gabby Charles (Wausau, Wis.), Dennis, Alex Freeman (Duluth, Minn.) and Nicholson. All five were significant contributors in their respective careers. The 2015 Drake team won the MVC regular season title for the first time since 2006.last_img read more

December 24, 2019 0